A PLAN OF THE TOWN OF ST. GEORGE Situated in Harbor Etang on the North side the Bay of Fundy, projected and laid out under the Orders and directions of His Excellency John Parr Esquire
- A PLAN OF THE TOWN OF ST. GEORGE Situated in Harbor Etang on the North side the Bay of Fundy, projected and laid out under the Orders and directions of His Excellency John Parr Esquire
A manuscript map of the town of St George in New Brunswick showing the land available to United Empire Loyalists - those American Loyalists who resettled in British North America as an act of loyalty to George III after the British defeat in the American Revolutionary War. Ordered by Governor General of Nova Scotia, John Parr, and surveyed by Charles Morris.
- Morris, Charles, (Surveyor)
- Former owner:
- George, III, King of Great Britain, 1738-1820
- George, IV, King of Great Britain, 1762-1830
- Parr, John, 1725-1791
- Name on Item:
By Charles Morris Sur. Gen.
- British Library
- Collection (local):
British Library Collection
United Empire loyalists--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
New Brunswick--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
CanadaNew Brunswick (province)
A manuscript note in ink at lower right, just outside the neatline, reads "Transmitted by Governor Parr with His Letter No. 23 of 24 June 1785".
The scale of "4 Chans to an Inch" [chains] is indicated in a note at the lower edge of the map. The scale is accompanied by a decorative compass point orienting north on the page.
A textual note within the title reads "N.N. the Town Lotts are 80 by 160 feet, all the Streets (except St George's which is 80 feet Wide) are 60 feet Wide".
Titled 'A Plan of the Town of St. George, situated in Harbor Etang, on the north side of the Bay of Fundy; projected and laid out, by order of H.E. John Parr, Esq., by Charles Morris, surveyor-general; drawn on a scale of 4 chains to an inch : 1 f. 6 in. x 1 f. 1 in' in the Catalogue of the manuscript maps, charts, and plans, and of the topographical drawings in the British Museum.
Titled 'a drawn Plan of the Town of St. George, situated in Harbor Etang, on the North side of the Bay of Fundy ; projected and laid out by order of H. E. I. Parr, Esq. : by Charles Morris, Survr. Genl.' in the Catalogue of Maps, Prints, Drawings, etc., forming the geographical and topographical collection attached to the Library of his late Majesty King George the third, etc., London, 1829.
- 1 map : manuscript pen and ink with watercolour ; 34 x 45 cm
- Catalog Record:
No known copyright restrictions.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike License (CC BY-NC-SA).