A PLAN of the TOWN of St ANDREWS Situated at the Head of Passamaquoddy Bay-laid out for the Accomodation of Loyal Emigrants & disbanded Corps
- A PLAN of the TOWN of St ANDREWS Situated at the Head of Passamaquoddy Bay-laid out for the Accomodation of Loyal Emigrants & disbanded Corps
A manuscript map of the town of St Andrews in New Brunswick showing the land available to United Empire Loyalists - those American Loyalists who resettled in British North America as an act of loyalty to George III after the British defeat in the American Revolutionary War. Ordered by Governor General of Nova Scotia, John Parr, and surveyed by Charles Morris.
- Morris, Charles, (Surveyor)
- Former owner:
- George, III, King of Great Britain, 1738-1820
- George, IV, King of Great Britain, 1762-1830
- Parr, John, 1725-1791
- Bulkeley, Richard, 1717-1800
- Name on Item:
done under the Orders and directions of His Excellency Governor Parr By Charles Morris Survr. Genl.
- British Library
- Collection (local):
British Library Collection
United Empire loyalists--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
New Brunswick--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
CanadaNew Brunswick (province)
A manuscript note in ink at lower right, just outside the neatline, reads "Transmitted by Governor Parr with His Letter No. 23 of 24 June 1785".
The scale of "25 Rods to One Inch" is indicated in a note at lower left. The scale is accompanied by a decorative compass point orienting north on the page.
A textual note at lower left informs that the "Town Lots" measure 80 by 160 feet, while the "Water Lots" measure 40 feet across. The lots are lettered and numbered on the map.
The town is laid out on a regular grid system with many streets named and the public reserves marked. The town in divided into three equal divisions on the page from left to right belonging to; Bulkeley, Parr and Morris.
Titled 'A plan of the town of St. Andrew's, situated at the head of Passamaquoddy Bay; laid out for the accommodation of loyal emigrants and disbanded corps; done under the orders and directions of H.E. Governor Parr, by Charles Morris, surveyor-general; drawn on a scale of 25 rods to an inch : 1 f. 7 in. x 1 f. Transmitted by Governor Parr, 24 June, 1785' in the Catalogue of the manuscript maps, charts, and plans, and of the topographical drawings in the British Museum.
Titled 'A drawn Plan of the Town of St. Andrews situated at the Head of Passamaquoddy Bay, laid out for the accommodation of Lyal emigrants and disbanded Corps : done by order of H. E. Governor Parr ; by Charles Morris, Surveyor General' in the Catalogue of Maps, Prints, Drawings, etc., forming the geographical and topographical collection attached to the Library of his late Majesty King George the third, etc., London, 1829.
- 1 map : manuscript pen and ink with watercolour ; 30 x 49 cm
- Catalog Record:
No known copyright restrictions.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike License (CC BY-NC-SA).