PLAN of PALLISSERS TOWER
- PLAN of PALLISSERS TOWER
- Former owner:
- Skinner, William, 1700-1780
- Former owner:
- Skinner, Monier
- British Library
- Collection (local):
British Library Collection
Military art and science--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Fortification--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Harbors--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
St. John's (N.L.)--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
CanadaNewfoundland and Labrador (province)Saint John's
[Saint John] :
[producer not identified]
- Notes (date):
Date suggested from http://www.historicplaces.ca/en/rep-reg/place-lieu.aspx?id=12850 (viewed October 2014) - Fort Amherst (depicted - named here Pallisser's Tower) was completed in 1777.
Relief shown by shading.
Shows title at upper right.
Shows scale bar at lower left, "Scale to the Plan 25 Feet to an Inch".
Shows descriptive text at lower left.
See Add Ms 33,231.II.9. for a section of the tower.
Copy at Add Ms 33,231.II.8. Comprises 2 sheets joined and laid on linen - a roll. Manuscript annotation at centre in black ink, "Handed over to Lieut. Monier Skinner R. Eng.r by his father in 1872" and initialled (by Monier Skinner?). Red stamp of British Museum at lower right. Pressmark stamped to verso and repeated in pencil.
- 1 map on 2 sheets : joined, manuscript pen and ink with watercolour ; 44 x 71 cm
Scale approximately 1:300
- Catalog Record:
No known copyright restrictions.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike License (CC BY-NC-SA).