PART OF THE HARBOUR of ST IOHNS
- PART OF THE HARBOUR of ST IOHNS
- Former owner:
- Skinner, William, 1700-1780
- Former owner:
- Skinner, Monier
- British Library
- Collection (local):
British Library Collection
Military art and science--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Fortification--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Harbors--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
St. John's (N.L.)--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
CanadaNewfoundland and Labrador (province)Saint John's
[Saint John] :
[producer not identified]
- Notes (date):
Date range on stylistic grounds and because a battery (?) is shown, although not named, in "Quiddy Viddy Gutt" and dates from 1767 - see http://www.historicplaces.ca/en/rep-reg/place-lieu.aspx?id=3061.
Relief shown by hachuring.
Sounding depths are given.
Shows Fort William.
Shows proposed defences on Signal Hill.
Shows title at lower left.
Shows a lettered key/list of references in lower margin.
Shows sectional view across The Narrows in left margin.
Copy at Add Ms 33,231.II.4. A roll. Laid on linen. Manuscript annotation at lower left in black ink, "Handed over to Lieut. Monier Skinner R. Eng.r by his father in 1872" and initialled (by William Skinner?). Red stamp of British Museum at lower right. Pressmark stamped to verso and repeated in pencil.
- 1 map : manuscript pen and ink with watercolour ; 43 x 60 cm, on sheet 54 x 75cm
Scale not given
- Catalog Record:
No known copyright restrictions.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike License (CC BY-NC-SA).