[Entrance to the Harbour of S.t Johns Newfoundland]
- [Entrance to the Harbour of S.t Johns Newfoundland]
- Former owner:
- Skinner, William, 1700-1780
- Former owner:
- Skinner, Monier
- British Library
- Collection (local):
British Library Collection
Military art and science--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Fortification--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Harbors--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
St. John's (N.L.)--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
CanadaNewfoundland and Labrador (province)Saint John's
[Saint John] :
[producer not identified]
- Notes (date):
Date suggested on stylistic grounds and on depiction of "Fort Charles or South Battery" (see http://www.northamericanforts.com/Canada/nf.html#stjohns).
Relief shown pictorially.
Title from annotation/title added by Monier Skinner in black ink.
Shows "Fort Charles of South Battery" with five guns.
Shows "Chain-rock Point" with 3 guns, but is inset with a "Design for 4 Guns on Chain-rock point".
Shows scale bar at lower left, "Scale of 100 feet to an Inch".
Shows "N.o 3" in ink at upper right.
Copy at Add Ms 33,231.II.6. A roll. Laid on linen. Manuscript annotation at lower centre in black ink, "Handed over to Lieut. Monier Skinner R. Eng.r by his father in 1872" and initialled (by Monier Skinner?). Red stamp of British Museum at lower right. Pressmark stamped to verso and repeated in pencil.
- 1 map : manuscript pen and ink with watercolour ; 37 x 24 cm
Scale approximately 1:1,200
- Catalog Record:
No known copyright restrictions.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike License (CC BY-NC-SA).