PLAN OF THE ENTRANCE OF ST IOHN'S HARBOUR NEWFOUNDLAND Shewing the additional Work's erecting for its defence
- PLAN OF THE ENTRANCE OF ST IOHN'S HARBOUR NEWFOUNDLAND Shewing the additional Work's erecting for its defence
- Associated name:
- Skinner, Thomas, 1759-1818
- Former owner:
- Skinner, William, 1700-1780
- Former owner:
- Skinner, Monier
- British Library
- Collection (local):
British Library Collection
Military art and science--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Fortification--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Harbors--Newfoundland and Labrador--St. John's--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
St. John's (N.L.)--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
CanadaNewfoundland and Labrador (province)Saint John's
[Saint John] :
[producer not identified]
- Notes (date):
Date range from depiction and naming of "Wallace's Battery" (built 1800-1815 - see http://www.northamericanforts.com/Canada/nf.html#stjohns) for latter date. However, map looks stylistically earlier.
Relief shown by shading and by hachuring.
Shows title and lettered key (A-D) in surround at lower right.
shows scale bar at lower centre, "Scale of Feet 225 to an Inch".
Shows "Amherst's Tower", "Frederick's Battery", "Chain Rock Battery". "Wallace's Battery" and the blockhouse on Signal Hill are referred to in the key as "erecting" (in progress).
Copy at Add Ms 33,231.II.5. A roll. Manuscript annotation at lower centre in black ink, "Handed over to Lieut. Monier Skinner R. Eng.r by his father in 1872" and initialled (by Monier Skinner?). Red stamp of British Museum at lower right. Annotation in pencil in margin at lower right, "Thomas Skinner" (?). Pressmark stamped to verso and repeated in pencil.
- 1 map : manuscript pen and ink with watercolour ; 47 x 61 cm
Scale approximately 1:2,700
- Catalog Record:
No known copyright restrictions.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike License (CC BY-NC-SA).