Plan of the Town and Harbour of Louisbourg
- Plan of the Town and Harbour of Louisbourg
- Green, William, 1725-1811
- Former owner:
- George, III, King of Great Britain, 1738-1820
- George, IV, King of Great Britain, 1762-1830
- Name on Item:
by W: Green Engr.
- British Library
- Collection (local):
British Library Collection
Louisbourg (N.S.)--History--Siege, 1745--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Louisbourg (N.S.)--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
CanadaNova Scotia (province)Louisbourg
Relief shown pictorially.
Shows "REFERENCES Relating to the attacks at the late Seige, also what has been done since" in panels at lower right and lower left, and in an additional panel pasted to the lower margin of the map. The key includes the batteries, guns and other defences.
The lighthouse is depicted pictorially.
William Green's signature is located in the additional panel pasted to the lower margin.
Titled 'A drawn Plan of the Harbour and fortifications of Louisbourg, by Wm. Green, Engr. 1755' in the Catalogue of Maps, Prints, Drawings, etc., forming the geographical and topographical collection attached to the Library of his late Majesty King George the third, etc., London, 1829.
Titled 'A "Plan of the Town and Harbour of Louisbourg;" shewing the proceedings of the siege by the English; drawn by Wm. Green, engr., St. John's, Newfoundland, 7th Aug., 1755, on a scale of 800 feet to an inch: 1 f. 11 in. x 1 f. 6 in.' in the Catalogue of the manuscript maps, charts and plans, and of the topographical drawings in the British Museum.
- 1 map : manuscript pen and ink with watercolour ; 47 x 59
- Catalog Record:
No known copyright restrictions.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike License (CC BY-NC-SA).