[Map of Narragansett Bay]
- [Map of Narragansett Bay]
- Associated name:
- Des Barres, Joseph F. W. (Joseph Frederick Wallet), 1722-1824
- Associated name:
- Prescott, Richard, 1725-1788
- Former owner:
- Frazer, Sir Augustus Simon, 1776-1835
- Former owner:
- Royal United Services Institute for Defence and Security Studies
- British Library
- Collection (local):
British Library Collection
Fortification--Rhode Island--Narragansett Bay--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Military art and science--Rhode Island--Narragansett Bay--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Narragansett Bay (R.I.)--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783--Maps, Manuscript--Early works to 1800
Rhode IslandBristol (county)Narragansett Bay
- 1 map on 3 sheets : joined, manuscript pen and ink with watercolour ;
No known copyright restrictions.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike License (CC BY-NC-SA).
[Place of production not identified] :
[producer not identified]
- Catalog Record:
Date attributed based on information shown on map; "Here the British Troops Landed Dec:a 1776" and "Mr Overing's Gen.' Prescot's Quarter" (General Prescott was abducted from his quarters July 10th 1777 thus suggesting a date of production prior to this date if the annotation suggests General Prescott is quartered at Overing House. However, the annotation may also have recorded the event after its occurrence)
Compare the map of Narragansett Bay published by J. F. W. des Barres in the "Atlantic Neptune" in 1777
Compare other manuscript maps of Narragansett Bay: the unattributed "[NARRAGANSETT BAY containing RHODE ISLAND]" (Add Ms 57,716.1-2.), "A map of the bay of Narraganset with the islands therein and part of the country adjacent" held by the Library of Congress (Call Number G3772.N3 1777 .B49) and by Charles Blaskowitz, and "[Narragansett Bay and the surrounding shores]" held by the William L. Clements Library (Maps 3-J-7 / Clinton Maps 58 - see Brun 275) and by Thomas Wheeler
Relief is shown by shading
Sounding depths are given
Shows scales at lower centre in yards; scales differ showing approximately 1:26,000 and 1:48,000)
Shows military fortifications and positions of troops - those shown here on Windmill Hill are not evident on the Des Barres publication, but do appear on the Faden publication ("A topographical chart of the bay of Narraganset in the province of New England, with all the isles contained therein, among which Rhode Island and Connonicut have been particularly surveyed, shewing the true position & bearings of the banks, shoals, rocks &c. as likewise the soundings; To which have been added the several works & batteries raised by the Americans. Taken by order of the principal farmers on Rhode Island" - see Library of Congress Call Number G3772.N3 1777 .B5).
Copy at Add Ms 27,715.3. Manuscript inscription in black ink at upper right shows "Presented by Colonel Sir Augustus Frazer K.C.B. R.A.". Paper reinstatement to right of map. Manuscript addition of "A 28/19" in pencil to verso. Illegible annotation to verso in ink. Green circular label to verso showing "21". White label to verso showing "DRAWER 29 SECTION 2". Blue label to verso showing "A 29/19". Manuscript addition of "262" in pencil to verso.
- Notes (date):