A VIEW of the TOWN & HARBOUR of LOUISBOURG
- A VIEW of the TOWN & HARBOUR of LOUISBOURG
View of the harbour at Louisbourg; ships on the water; the town of Louisbourg on the left-hand side; an island with a white flag at the centre of the scene; a lighthouse on the right-hand side; mountains in the distance. Inscribed with title in black ink in the upper centre. Bears watermark PVL.
- Former owner:
- George, III, King of Great Britain, 1738-1820
- George, IV, King of Great Britain, 1762-1830
- British Library
- Collection (local):
British Library Collection
Harbors--Nova Scotia--Louisbourg--Pictorial works--Early works to 1800
Louisbourg (N.S.)--Pictorial works--Early works to 1800
CanadaNova Scotia (province)Louisbourg
The 1829 catalogue states that this view was drawn in 1756 by Admiral Knowles although the drawing is not inscribed with any date or name. Admiral Knowles may refer to Sir Charles Knowles (approximately 1704-1777) who was Governor of Louisbourg between 1746-1748 although there is no evidence that he made this drawing.
Titled ‘A drawn View of the Town and Harbour of Louisbourg, by Admiral Knowles, 1756.’ in the Catalogue of Maps, Prints, Drawings, etc., forming the geographical and topographical collection attached to the Library of his late Majesty King George the third, etc, London, 1829.
Titled ‘A general "View of the Town and Harbour of Louisbourg, 1756:" 2 f. 10 in. x 1 f. 10 in.’ in the Catalogue of the manuscript maps, charts, and plans, and of the topographical drawings in the British Museum, London, 1844-1861.
- 1 drawing : pen and black ink with monochrome and coloured wash ; sheet 59.9 x 85.6 cm
- Catalog Record:
No known copyright restrictions.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike License (CC BY-NC-SA).